How to Talk to Little Girls

I’ve been wanting to start posting again on the ole blog for about a week. I knew that we had a bunch of school work to finish and an extremely packed calendar to navigate, but after that I knew that I could get my blogging on. It was on the horizon!

And then I got sick.

Oh well! Life goes on! And now I am on the other end and feeling a spark of motivation to post, so here I am. I am hoping to start posting regularly again and I’m going to give myself the grace to post with a carefree and casual approach. Kind of like how there is no crying in baseball, there are no rules to blogging this summer. So get ready world – random posts and sub-par photography coming your way! Woo-hoo!

My Mom shared a link with me today on Facebook and I love.it. No, I LOVE.IT. Judging from the date of the original post, it’s possible you have seen it before, but I suggest rereading it even if you have. If you haven’t read it, please do. Go ahead…I’ll wait.

How to Talk to Little Girls

You with me? Sweet.

This post spoke VOLUMES to me. As a mother of two darling red-headed girls, we get comments ALL.THE.TIME. The red hair, the curls, their eyes…”Where does the red hair come from?” “Oh! Girls, you’re so beautiful! Their hair!” “OH, look at her hair!” “What beautiful children!” and on…and on…and on…You don’t realize how rare red hair is until you live with two of them. And people love it, especially Grandmas at grocery stores.

We have taken great measures to be sure our girls are gracious and always say thank you when they are given a compliment. This has been a struggle at times. Our youngest, the one with the red AND the curls went through a phase when she would be SO annoyed to hear it again. She would almost involuntarily groan at ANOTHER hair comment. I can imagine her groan could be translated to, “Really? Again with the hair? Have I nothing else you would like to talk about?”

As her parents, we work very hard to pull them aside and look them in the eyes and them all the other things that are amazing about them. Yes, the Lord is creative and gave you beautiful hair, but you are caring, thoughtful, smart, funny, kind, compassionate. We have also spent time talking about no matter how beautiful you are on the outside, if your inside is ugly and your attitude is nasty, you aren’t beautiful. You can be dressed in your best, your hair done and LOOK beautiful, but if you are acting unkind or naughty, you ain’t so pretty sister.

It’s so easy to compliment little girls in our lives because it’s true – they are so cute! WIth their cute clothes, painted piggy nails and ribbons and bows, it’s almost impossible zip our lip and talk about bigger and better things. But it’s SO worth it. As noted in the post:

This week ABC news reported that nearly half of all three- to six-year-old girls worry about being fat. In my book, Think: Straight Talk for Women to Stay Smart in a Dumbed-Down World, I reveal that fifteen to eighteen percent of girls under twelve now wear mascara, eyeliner and lipstick regularly; eating disorders are up and self-esteem is down; and twenty-five percent of young American women would rather win America’s next top model than the Nobel Peace Prize. Even bright, successful college women say they’d rather be hot than smart. A Miami mom just died from cosmetic surgery, leaving behind two teenagers. This keeps happening, and it breaks my heart.

I just wanted to share this because I agree with what Lisa said and I know I want to do better about how I talk to all little girls. It’s worth it. They are worth it.

See you again soon!

 

 

2 thoughts on “How to Talk to Little Girls

  1. Meg

    I am constantly stopped by the “grandma” types at the store (or anywhere, really) who want to talk about my little man’s curly blond locks LONG eyelashes, and dimpled chin. While this was fun at first (what mom doesn’t love when everyone else recognizes how beautiful her child is?), I am starting to feel the same way. There’s so much more to our kids that what’s on the outside. I’m not disagreeing with you that this is a cultural issue that we have with how we speak to little girls, just pointing out that it’s not purely a gender-specific one.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

