Moving Along in the Master Bathroom

Projects seem to take us forever around here.

The speed at which Young House Love hammers out projects (see what I did there? har har) always amazes me. I know, I know, it’s their JOB and we have other jobs and responsibilities, but I wish we could get things wrapped up a bit faster. What I am showing you today isn’t even a totally finished space. But, we have made progress so a big thumbs up to us!

Alright bloggy friends, I need your help. Remember when I asked your opinion on shower curtains? Well, we eliminated one right away and for a very good reason. I could see a lion face in it…

shower curtain 2

Do you see it?! Our oldest daughter saw it right away without any prompting. As I type this I sort of see a dragon too. ha ha

Anyways, you will notice in the following updated photos I have the other two shower curtains making appearances. I like them both for different reasons and would love input on which one works better overall. So, please leave me some comments all you smart people!

Just for a reminder, here is where we started:

master bathroom before

And here it the work in progress today:

IMG_6864bIMG_6885IMG_6868IMG_6915IMG_6893IMG_6911IMG_6921

SO? Which shower curtain??

I like the softness of #1 because the water closet has a softer feel to it and I think the lighter print of the curtain helps balance the brighter wall color. BUT, I LOVE the print of curtain #2. But, I am not sure it works as well with what I have going on in the water closet, which I love.

There are parts of this room I love:
Board and Batten
-Wall colors – Eddie Bauer Linden and Martha Stewart Chinchilla (links for color ref only)
Mirror Frame
-Towel Hooks – we bought them from Lowes and I can’t seem to locate them online. Here is a photo for reference. Simple, but I like them.IMG_6883

And then there are other areas that are still on the to-do and wish list:
-Wall decor and accessories
-Solution for hand towels
-New rugs
-I would LOVE to change the flooring. The tan/brown tones are throwing everything off (this is a wish, not currently on the to-do list)
-Light fixtures. There is large boob light in there. Nuf said.
-And a BIG to-do that I can’t wait to get on is this:IMG_6867

I love this window and the view of the backyard. I don’t love that it gives the neighbors and anyone walking the trail behind our house a large view into our bathroom. HELLO!

What’s so stylishly covering the window right now is a shower curtain tension rod and some old white curtains. I know, you want to pin that photo. Go ahead, I’ll wait…

I’m leaning towards a bamboo/woven shade (with privacy backing) to add some texture into the room and to tie the color of the stained vanity into another place. It would also be nice to tie in some yellow like I have with the grey in the water closet. Decision, decisions. I would LOVE your ideas and advice!

Alright…this is turning into a novel. Let me know about the shower curtains and any ideas you have for window treatments! I love to hear from you!

9 thoughts on “Moving Along in the Master Bathroom

  1. Jen Crabiel

    Katie, your bath looks awesome! I’m not going to be any help to you though….I like both curtains!! I think the grey pattern really brings out your grey towels. The more muted white curtain creates a really ‘simple’ look. I really like that. You’re not the only one whose home projects take forever. We’ve been in our house for 2 years now and I’m just now getting around to painting the kitchen and bath!!! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Dana

    Hey Katie!
    I love shower curtain #2 and I think that even though your water closet is a bit more subtle…you can totally pull this off with the right accents. I agree that a bamboo/natural type roman shade would be lovely. I would suggest one that closes from the bottom up so that you can be in the tub but still have the shade part way open to enjoy the tree tops and sky and let natural light in. That’s all the thoughts I have right now…but I think it looks great…and say “Go shower curtain 2!”.

    Reply
  3. C

    I like the second one a lot but its so bold I think you could go bolder with the towel color. (Are they brown or is that the picture?) I could see yellow towels or another color pulled from that cute bird picture in the water closet and I think the bold colors would pop with that awesome shower curtain. #2 is my vote.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

