To Share or Not To Share

Our girls have their own rooms.

Well, they sort of have their own rooms.

I think our youngest has been sleeping in her big sister’s room since November. Bunk beds are fun and we have gone from bunking up on the weekends for fun to a full-time sleeping situation. They love it and back in November having them sleep in the same room put a stop to the little one coming into our room at night. What can I say, I like sleeping without a small child elbowing me and smacking me in the face while she sleeps. How do such small people take up SO much room?

They have recently been calling it “their” room and asking about turning the other bedroom into a playroom. I like them sleeping in the same room because there is something comforting about having them together. (Anyone else relate to that?) But I am sort of on the fence about an official move to a shared room because I don’t know what to do with the other bedroom!

They are only 8 and 5, so a playroom of sorts still makes sense. And, since we are a homeschool family, they do spend a lot of time playing together and having a space all their own would get a lot of use. But does it make sense to have a playroom up with all the bedrooms? This is an example of what I like to call first-world problems. πŸ™‚

What would you do? Should I have “project playroom” in my future?

Playroom colorful
Source

Playroom vintage
Source

 

 

Playroom stage
Source

12 thoughts on “To Share or Not To Share

  1. Becky

    Hi Katie! Nice to “meet” you. I’m dropping by from Decor and the Dog link party. I vote for the playroom – love your inspiration pictures! And I’m equally puzzled as to how such little bodies can take up so much space in the bed. My smallest is still in a crib and my toddler is now in a “big boy bed” but with a boy and a girl (a heavy sleeper and light sleeper) we’ll probably be sticking to separate bedrooms.

    Reply
  2. Suzy B

    I would say, go for the playroom for a few years and see what happens as they get older. The only reason I suggest that is because my girls have always shared a bedroom since my youngest was a baby and they’ve LOVED it…until the past few months. I think my almost 11-year-old is ready for her own space, more room for her growing collection of “stuff”, more privacy, and the all-important “alone time” in her very own bedroom. Our problem is we don’t have an extra bedroom, so they’re going to have to make do for now! πŸ™‚ So I would suggest that you do what works for your family now, and then you can always change it back to a bedroom when/if they’re ready for their own space again someday! πŸ™‚ Looks like you may have some fun decorating in your future!! FUN!

    Reply
    1. Katie Post author

      Thanks Suzy! I do think it’s precious bonding time to have them together. And, a great way to teach character qualities when they are sharing a space. I’m going to start brainstorming the best way to do it and see where it goes! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  3. Amy

    It is definitely a first-world problem, and solution, but we have LOVED having a playroom…and having our kids share bedrooms. Almost none of the toys are in where they sleep, although lots of books are. I hope to keep it that way as long as possible. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. Katie Post author

      Hi Amy! We had a playroom at our old house, so I know how nice it is…I’m starting to think it’s a good idea. πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

