Friday Brain Dump

I’ve been working hard to lose weight. There is the small matter of a family wedding the first weekend in May and Momma has a dress that’s been hanging in her closet that needs to be worn. If only I could get my thighs in it.

I easily become inconsistent with my workout routine because some days it’s just impossible to fit it in. But, something I really can control is what I put in my mouth. So, I’ve been using the My Fitness Pal app to journal everything I eat and to keep within my target calorie allowance each day. (Don’t have a smart phone or iPad? You can check it out on the web!)

I WAS using the Jillian Michaels Slim Down Solution app because it WAS awesome and I loved the features it USED to have. Translation: I had to delete it from my phone at one point and when I downloaded it again, all the super awesome handy features I LOVED were gone. Want to select that you did Level 3 of 30 Day Shred to track your exercise? Sorry! Can’t do that any longer! Want to scan a barcode to log a food? Sorry! Can’t do that any longer. Now, I am sure that with a handy paid subscription you can, but because I was already enjoying it for free, I don’t to pay. Ok, rant over.

So, I started logging food again on Tuesday. Let’s just say I had a small heart attack when I started adding what I had eaten and saw how fast it added up. Using an app like My Fitness Pal is SO enlightening. It really teaches you to make your calories count. You know that not all calories are created equal, right? So, I’m making better choices and eating less – and I’ve lost weight already. Reality – it’s not going to come off like it has in the past few days and it’s going to take a lot of work to get where I want to be. Darn. In the meantime, for the past day and a half, I feel like I could eat an appetizer of bacon with a meal of anything mexican COVERED in cheese with a dessert of every cake, pie and ice cream I can get my hands on. Hungry much?

Also, I know that technically it’s still Winter where I live, but I am OVER. IT.

Oh, and Daylight Savings this year stinks. I am still trying to recover. The End.

Someone needs to come up with a fancy word that explains the love a mother feels for a child. You know, the kind of love that all at the same time makes your heart feel like it’s going to explode into a million pieces, brings tears to your eyes, makes you want to smooch and hug them until you pull a muscle, and nearly fall down on your knees for the goodness God has shown you by giving you this small person to whom you get to be their mother. Wouldn’t it be cool to have that word and then when you say it, all the other mothers around you go, “ahhhh. Hmm-mmm. I get you.” (Holds fingers up her eyes and points at them and then points at yours.)  All you Greek scholars out there – get on this ok?

So I think blogging is super fun. I think it’s a really great way to be creative and to share your life with others. But, I am totally flabbergasted at the people who do this as their career. For reals? Like, I have a marketing degree and totally get the social network thing, but there are like, what, thousands, or tens of thousands blogs out there? How does one gain the audience to make it their job? Well, I supposed for starters they post more than once a week and about random thoughts floating in their head. 😉 On this note, I felt so elated for Katie when I read this post. She’s been at it for a long time and is really good at what she does. I’m super happy for her.

I’m so glad it’s Friday. Maybe a little rest and fun this weekend will spark some motivation to post a bit more next week. Until then – Happy Weekend everyone!

 

Leave a Reply

