Growing Green Onions – In My Kitchen!

I saw this pin on Pinterest last week and knew it was one I wanted to try.

Green Onions

 

I had some green onions in the fridge this morning that we were starting to look a little wilted, so I cleaned them up, chopped some up for a tupperware container and put the leftover bulbs standing in a glass of water. If all goes well, I’ll have a new bunch in about 12 days!ย It’s recommended to change the water every day.

I really love this idea, but I’m on the fence right now as to if I’ll keep up with it. All I can smell in my kitchen right now is green onion. Hoping that dies down a bit. Not really a scent you want to be greeted by each time you enter a room. ๐Ÿ™‚ The kids haven’t complained, so maybe it’s not as bad as I think!

Have you ever tried to grow green onions or any other fruit/veggie from leftover pieces?

2 thoughts on “Growing Green Onions – In My Kitchen!

  1. lisabethjean

    I inadvertently sprout fruits & veggies all the time. I compost; but sometimes my pile is too wet or too cool & the scraps I’ve tossed start to grow leaves and often roots. The best one was my son’s sweet potato “failed” 3rd grade science experiment that produced a couple pounds of nice potatoes by the time we discovered what those nice leaves were… ๐Ÿ˜€

    Reply
    1. Katie Post author

      Fun! I heard you can grow celery the same way I am doing the green onions. I love to grow veggies in the summer and it’s fun to try things indoors in the meantime. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

