Cracked Crate & Barrel

This is the story of my dishes from Crate & Barrel.

Crate & Barrel Dishes

“2 of these sets are not like the others, 2 of these sets are kind of the same…”

Ok, that doesn’t really make sense, but that song kept going through my head when I looked at this picture.

Before I explain what happened, I have to give a big shout out to the customer service from the staff at the Michigan Avenue, Chicago Crate & Barrel store. “You go, girls!” (I’m sure they have nice guys there, but I talked to women each time) Seriously. Top notch. Thankyouverymuch.

My big, little brother gave me a giftcard to Crate & Barrel for Christmas (woot!). So, when hubs and I were in Chicago on our anniversary trip, I did a little shopping. I chose a lovely set of 3 potluck bakersΒ in shades of blue and a ceramic set of 5 bowls in shades from citron to a blueish purple. Note: I said set of 3 and set of 5. It’s important.

Crate & Barrel Bowls
The website is only showing the mini size from this set. Bummer!

Crate & Barrel Baking Dishes

(I know you don’t come here for the photography, but these are just pitiful. Sorry)

We didn’t really want to mess with carrying dishes home with us on the train, so for 5 bucks, we had them shipped to our house, which was awesome. A few days after we had been home, a nice big white box with black letters was sitting on our front porch. I of course was super excited. And then I opened the box.

IMG_6848

Both of the largest pieces in each set were broken into pieces. Bummer.
I called the store and explained and they said they would send 2 new sets right away. Yay!
The new sets came the next day. Yay!
Both of the largest pieces in each set were broken into pieces. Bummer.
I called (again), explained (again) and they said they would send 2 new sets right away. Yay!
The new sets came the next day. Yay!
The largest bowl was broken. Bummer.
The largest baker was intact, but the middle size was broken. But, I now had a full set! Yay!
I called the store (again) and explained (AGAIN) and they said they would try (AGAIN!)Β UGH.
The set came – and the large bowl was BROKEN AGAIN. dfsafklsjfaiflsafslj!
I called again and agreed to try once more. I also gave them some technical advice on shipping the set, like, you should put some packaging AROUND THE BOWL!!
The set came – AND IT WASN’T BROKEN! “HAAAAAAALELUJAH!”

And that is the story of how I ended up with 3 sets of 4 bowls, 1 set of 5 bowls, 2 sets of 2 bakers and 1 set of 3 bakers. If we throw some Xs and an equal sign in there, I’m pretty sure we have an algebra problem. Oooh, I totally have a homeschool math lesson in there somewhere.

I really love the dishes and it’s a good thing, because I have A LOT of them now. I am so thankful that Crate & Barrel didn’t make me package them up and send them back each time. That was extremely generous of them. I saved all the broken pieces and hope to use them for some fun projects this Spring.

Moral of the story? Crate & Barrel has great customer service OR be sure you like what you buy because you might just end up with more than you bargained for. πŸ˜‰

6 thoughts on “Cracked Crate & Barrel

  1. Cori

    Holy cow! That’s a lot of dishes! Good thing they’re super cute. (Side bar: I may have to purchase some of those. Hopefully, mine will break in the mail, too.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

