Master Bathroom – Paint!

Here is what our master bathroom looked like on closing day:

master bathroom soaker tub and window Toilet room

I give it a “B” – for Beige and Boring!

So, the first thing we tackled to give this room some personality is a board and batten wall treatment. It’s still waiting for it’s finishing touches, but it’s up and a major improvement. Below is the “water closet” – is this seriously what you call these? It needs a better name…anyone?

water closet board and batten

Yes, that’s a toilet seat cover. Don’t judge.

After the board and batten was up, I was itching to pick a paint color for the walls, but to me it made the most sense to choose a shower curtain before deciding on the paint. I had been looking for a shower curtain for a couple months and I was having a lot of trouble finding something I liked. I was all over the place with the colors and styles that caught my eye so I knew it was risky to paint the walls and then plan on finding something that matched. I narrowed down the style I wanted and was so excited when I found these shower curtains at Marshalls. I knew one would work! Feel free to still leave me your opinion on that post. 🙂

It was then time to choose the wall color! We lived with this for days:

swatches

The greens were never really in the running (although I joked we could be fashion forward and embrace 2013’s Color of the Year). We were both feeling we wanted either a shade of blue or grey.  I’m usually someone who can make a relatively fast decision, but this decision, as a friend says, caused me major “analysis paralysis”. I absolutely love what Jennifer did with her bathroom makeover and I was strongly considering a beautiful shade of grey-blue. But, the more we thought about it and got some opinions, we felt something a bit bolder would be fun.

Linden Blue

Bathroom Linden Blue

The color is called Linden from the Eddie Bauer Home collection at Lowes. It is GORGEOUS in person. I’d say these photos are pretty true to the color in different lighting. When the natural light is gone, it can look a bit more green. It’s definitely a bold choice for us, but I think it’s going to work really well when the room all comes together.

What you see around the mirror is the base for a mirror frame my Mr built. I’m going to share that with you soon!

So, what do you think? What color is your bathroom?

6 thoughts on “Master Bathroom – Paint!

  1. Wendy Fain

    I love your bathroom color and all three of your shower curtain choices. I’m getting ready to make the same decisions for our new bathroom. I really don’t enjoy these decisions.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Master Bathroom – Mirror Frame | The Things That Bring Me Joy

Leave a Reply

