Pinterest Challenge – Laundry Basket Dresser

Today is the day of the show, y’all! (name that movie)

By the way, if you can name that movie, we’re like long-lost BFFs.

But really, today is the day!

winter-challenge

If you’re stopping by via any of the lovely hostess’ sites – Welcome! I’m glad you’re here! Please look around, stay awhile, and come back soon. I’d love it!

SO…I’ve been so excited to show you what the hubs and I came up with for today’s challenge. As soon as I saw the challenge posted by Katie and Sherry, I knew I wanted to join this party. But, deciding what to do wasn’t as easy as I thought it would be. I didn’t want to do something just to do something, ya know? I wanted it to be something I really wanted or needed. As I perused my pins on Pinterest, I realized that a lot of them seemed big picture design-related and nothing was standing out as something I could tackle AND finish before today. I was not feeling inspired. So, I had to do a bit of browsing to find THE project to do. Friday evening, I finally found something that had me excited and I am so glad we went with it.

Laundry Dresser by Ana White

Pretty slick, right? I don’t know about you, but our laundry room was in need of some major organization. Something I love about our laundry room is that it’s on the second floor with the bedrooms. It’s super convenient. BUT, something I don’t love it that it’s really more of a laundry closet than a room. It’s TINY. As we toss dirty laundry in, even if it is into baskets, the floor gets so full you can’t get the door shut. Kind of like this:

IMG_2865

Yes, I just showed you our dirty laundry. A picture says a thousand words. We needed the laundry basket dresser…stat.

We used the plans from Ana White’s site as a guide, but we had to switch up the measurements to make it the correct size for our space. We opted to not put a back on the dresser and added 3 support boards instead. It made the entire unit feel less bulky in the tiny room. Lastly, instead of using the metal angle for the basket “hangers” like she suggests, we created the hangers out of leftover boards.

And here’s how it turned out!

Laundry Basket Dresser

I am so happy with it! It’s going to get the dirty clothes off the floor and will keep me organized. You guys, I can easily shut the door! An added bonus is being able to set my laundry supplies on the top which keeps the dryer cleared off for a place to fold clean laundry. Score! Oh, and the top of the dresser needed something cute. No reason not to have something nice to look at while doing one of life’s less than glamorous chores.

Laundry Sign, Laundry Print

Nothing like a good pun to get you in the mood to scrub stains. :)

I highly recommend pinning this as a must-do project to give your laundry room some organization. If we can build it – you can too!

Laundry Room

Let me know how you keep your laundry room organized! Do you think a laundry basket dresser could be a good solution for you? If you’re here and a fellow blogger who has linked up to the hostess sites, say hello and give me your link!

If you haven’t, be sure to stop by the hostess’ sites to see what everyone else has been up to!

winter-challenge-headshots

Megan from The Remodeled Life.
Katie from Bower Power.
Sherry from Young House Love.
Michelle from Decor & The Dog.

18 thoughts on “Pinterest Challenge – Laundry Basket Dresser

  1. Lara

    K – I love it!! Love that it uses the smaller square baskets (and only 3). It seems more ‘neat’ the way you have it!! Great job

    Reply
  2. Cori

    So you can cook, homeschool, and build stuff? There’s only one other person in the world who can do all that, and that’s Barbara Streisand.

    Reply
    1. Katie Post author

      Cori – CRACKED ME UP! And let’s me honest, I supervised the building part. Well, I might have held a board in place a couple of times. But, I painted it! ;-)

      Reply
  3. O'Mamas

    I had to do a double take of your pic of the “before” laundry room … I thought maybe you snuck into our house!!! Seriously … this is fantastic and I’m going to talk to the hubbers about helping me build one, too! (jeanne)

    Reply
  4. Pingback: A bit of nothing… | The Things That Bring Me Joy

  5. Amanda McCaffrey

    Is there anyway you could provide where you found those baskets? And your measurements/plans? I have a small space to work with as well and the one I’ve seen done by Ana White is just to wide (19″)…I only have a 17″ space to work with and it looks impossible, but I’m tired of having folded laundry on my kitchen table! Help! :-)

    Reply
    1. Katie Post author

      Hi Amanda – I’m so sorry I never responded to you. We used our space as a guide for the size of our dresser and adjusted Ana White’s measurements accordingly. I would take your 17″ width and just adjust the rest of the measurements to fit. I would look around for baskets first though. I had a hard time finding baskets that would work. Square baskets are hard to come by! I think we ended up getting ours at Target. Good luck!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

